top of page
Cello and music stand

Anker Sigfusson

Experience Bach's Cello Suites

Johann Sebastian Bach’s 6 Cello Suites contain a marvellously inexhaustible musical depth and richness.
They were composed between 1717 and 1723 and their quality is timeless.
Johann Sebastian Bach composed this brilliant music,
wherein subject, harmony and rhythmic combine to form a greater whole.
In 2015, I decided to specialize in Bach's six solo cello suites. 
I would be delighted to perform these cello suites by Bach at all suitable concert venues.
A concert consists of two cello suites, with a 10 minute interval in between. Approximately 60 minutes, all in all.
Fees by agreement.

Cellomusik: Bio

About Me

I was born in 1964 in Sønderborg, Denmark.
At the age of 8, I started playing the piano and at 16 years old, I began playing cello.
I was 18 years old when I was granted admittance to the Royal Academy of Music, majoring in the cello and
with piano as my minor subject. My cello teachers were
Professor Asger Lund Christiansen and Professor Harro Ruisenaars, among others.
In 1990, I completed the Diploma.
I have participated in master classes with Joan Dixon,
Frans Helmerson and Mischa Maisky.
In 1991, I was employed by Aalborg Symphony Orchestra and during the years 1992 to 1996, I worked with
South Denmark Philharmonic.
It was when I moved to Aarhus that I founded Trio Classic
and, in 1998, we played at the royal wedding at Gråsten Palace.
Since 1998, I have collaborated
with organist Michael Østergaard Jensen
at numerous church concerts in Denmark. 
I have chosen a solo career, as I early on discovered
my need for artistic freedom and individuality.
In 2015, I chose to make Bach’s Cello Suites my speciality

Cellomusik: About
Cellomusik: Listen


Solsikkevej 11, Vivild
8961 Allingåbro


+45 22 64 66 58


Message sent

Cellomusik: Contact
bottom of page